News //

Tara Waniganayaka elected USU President

Justin Pen reports on the USU executive election.

Tara Waniganayaka (Indies) has been elected President of the University of Sydney Union (USU), defeating fellow Presidential contenders Robby Magyar and Tim Matthews.

Waniganayaka was elected with six votes, to Magyar’s four and Matthews’ three.

Returning Officer described the pre-election period as “tense” prior to the open of formal nominations.

Bebe D’Souza (Grassroots) was elected as Vice President, along with Robby Magyar (Student Unity) claiming Honourary Treasurer and Eve Radunz (National Labor Students) taking Honourary Secretary, all elected unopposed.

Liam Carrigan (Independent) was also elected Queer Portfolio holder, with Kate Bullen (NLS) on the Wom*n’s Portfolio and Edward McMahon (Grassroots) on the Sustainability Portfolio, all unopposed. D’Souza also took out the position of the recently created Ethno-cultural Portfolio.

Liv Ronan (Indies) was elected to the Finance Committee and Director of Student Publications, with Alisha Aitken-Radburn (Student Unity) elected to the Electoral Committee.

In her speech, Aitken-Radburn noted she wanted to re-evaluate the role of Senate-Appointed Board Directors.

Visit @honi_soit on Twitter to peruse the speeches each candidate made.

More to come.